San Francisco behaves differently from almost every catalogue we measure. Of the 50 products we sampled here, 13 carry a sell-out flag — more than one in four — and only 84% of the full catalogue cancels free of charge. Scarcity and financial commitment arrive together, which changes the order in which you book.
The second surprise is the ratings. The four most-reviewed departures in the city score 4.41, 4.12, 4.33 and 4.90. The one that breaks the pattern is also the longest and dearest product in the top ten. Neither price nor duration explains the split, which is the most useful thing to know before spending €97, the median price across the 999 San Francisco experiences we track.
Reading a San Francisco listing: sell-out flag and refund window
Two fields decide the booking order in San Francisco, and neither is the price. The first is the sell-out flag, the marker an operator sets when departures routinely fill. 13 of the 50 sampled products carry it. The second is the cancellation window, and only 84% of the catalogue refunds without penalty.
Put those two together and the city splits into two booking behaviours. Anything flagged as selling out should be held as early as your dates are firm. Anything outside the free-cancellation share should be booked last, once the weather window is settled, because that booking is money spent rather than money held. Roughly one booking in six falls into the second group — the share that hurts when the fog closes in or the flight moves.
Scarcity and risk point in opposite directions here. The sell-out flag argues for booking early; the 16% of the catalogue that does not cancel free argues for booking late. When a single product is both, that product is the one to decide first and to read the terms on twice.
Alcatraz Island: one ferry, and an absence in the top ten
Alcatraz Island is the image the city sells itself with, and it is missing from the ten most-reviewed products in the 50 we sampled. That absence is structural rather than editorial, and the National Park Service explains why on its own fees page.
The park states that Alcatraz City Cruises is the only ferry provider it authorises to Alcatraz Island, and the only ferry permitted to dock and discharge passengers there. A day-tour adult ticket was listed at $47.95 and a night tour at up to $59.65 on that page, last revised 21 January 2026 and read by us on 27 August 2026. Tickets can be bought up to 90 days ahead, and the park's own advice is that booking in advance removes the wait in line. It does not state that tickets sell out, and we are not going to write that it does.
A single concessioner — the one operator a park authorises to run a service — holding exclusive landing rights leaves little for third parties to resell, so the catalogue's attention collects around the mainland and the day trips instead, which is exactly where the 13 sell-out flags among the sampled products compete for seats. Everything currently bookable sits on our San Francisco experiences page.
Yosemite in a day: €13 apart in price, 0.55 apart in rating
The clearest evidence in the whole catalogue that format outranks destination sits in two products going to the same valley. Small-group Yosemite costs €210.19 for 14 hours and rates 4.90 across 4,080 reviews. The pickup version costs €197.00 for 15 hours and rates 4.35 across 3,586 reviews.
Same granite, same sequoias, €13.19 of price difference, an hour of duration difference — and 0.55 of a star between them, which is a gulf in a five-point scale. The only distinction the two listings actually name is in their titles: one says small group, the other says pickup. Those two words correlate with the gap. They do not prove it caused the gap, and nothing else in the catalogue data separates the pair, so the honest reading is that the pattern is visible and the mechanism is not established.
On the park side, one number a visitor used to need has gone. The National Park Service page on Yosemite permits and reservations, last revised 25 June 2026, stated flatly that a reservation was not required to enter Yosemite National Park in 2026; the park's separate reservations page, revised 18 February 2026, announced it would no longer use a timed reservation system that year, replacing it with real-time traffic monitoring and active parking management in Yosemite Valley. We read the June page because it is the more recent of the two. Both cover the 2026 season only, and neither published a 2027 rule when we checked on 27 August 2026 — this park has changed the rule before.
Rating against price per hour in San Francisco's top ten
Price per hour is the listing's own arithmetic: catalogue price divided by catalogue duration. Set it beside the rating and the usual assumption — that longer and dearer means worse value and worse reviews — collapses.
| Experience | Rating | Duration | Price | Per hour | Reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Painted Ladies city tour | 4.91 | 2 h | €72.12 | €36.06 | 2,369 |
| Small-group Yosemite and giant sequoias | 4.90 | 14 h | €210.19 | €15.01 | 4,080 |
| San Francisco Love Tour | 4.85 | 2 h | €87.07 | €43.53 | 3,114 |
| Muir Woods and wine country super saver | 4.61 | 11 h | €157.42 | €14.31 | 3,408 |
| Bay sunset and city lights cruise | 4.49 | 2 h | €51.01 | €25.50 | 2,085 |
| Muir Woods and Sausalito | 4.41 | 5 h | €70.36 | €14.07 | 5,220 |
| Yosemite and giant sequoias with pickup | 4.35 | 15 h | €197.00 | €13.13 | 3,586 |
| Napa and Sonoma wine country | 4.33 | 8 h | €137.85 | €17.23 | 4,578 |
| Monterey, Carmel and 17-Mile Drive | 4.24 | 11 h | €113.45 | €10.31 | 2,222 |
| Hop-on hop-off open-top bus | 4.12 | 1.2 h | €49.34 | €41.12 | 4,718 |
The cheapest hour in the table, at €10.31, belongs to the lowest-rated full-day trip; the dearest, at €43.53, belongs to a product rated 4.85. The three products rated 4.80 or above carry 9,563 reviews between them, against 22,409 for the six rated below 4.50. More than twice as much of the city's attention sits on the lower-rated half of its own top ten.

Muir Woods and Sausalito: the reservation a tour absorbs
Muir Woods National Monument is the coast redwood grove across the Golden Gate, and it is the one destination here where the tour price buys away a real piece of paperwork. The €70.36 departure that pairs it with Sausalito is the most-reviewed product in the sample, at 5,220 reviews and 4.41.
The National Park Service fees page for the monument, last revised 19 February 2026 and read on 27 August 2026, listed a standard adult entrance pass at $15.00 for visitors aged 16 and over, and stated that parking and shuttle reservation fees are separate from entrance fees and are required for all vehicles and shuttle riders. Reservations and pre-purchased entrance are handled at GoMuirWoods.com. That is a requirement, not a recommendation, and it applies to the shuttle as well as to cars — arriving without one is not a plan.
A booked tour removes that step entirely, which is a plausible part of why a 4.41 product outdraws better-rated neighbours by a thousand reviews. Sausalito is the softer half of the day: a waterfront town on the Marin shore, reachable independently by ferry, and the reason the listing offers a return by bus or by boat.
Napa, Sonoma and Monterey: what a long day out of the city buys
Three full-day departures leave San Francisco for California rather than for a park, and all three sit in the lower half of the rating table. Napa and Sonoma run €137.85 for 8 hours at 4.33 across 4,578 reviews; Monterey, Carmel and the 17-Mile Drive run €113.45 for 11 hours at 4.24.
The wine day is the shortest long day in the catalogue and the second-most-reviewed departure of all, so demand is not the issue. The Monterey run stretches to 11 hours for a coastal drive and two small towns, producing both the cheapest hour in the top ten and the second-lowest rating in it — a low price per hour buying a long day rather than a good one. The combined Muir Woods and wine-country product splits the difference at €157.42 for 11 hours and 4.61, the best-rated of the multi-stop full days.
A sell-out flag tells you when to book. A cancellation policy tells you what booking costs if you are wrong. San Francisco is the rare city where those two fields disagree.
Iracema Melo, on reading San Francisco listings
The Golden Gate Bridge on foot: east sidewalk, no ticket
The single most photographed structure in San Francisco has no admission at all. Crossing the Golden Gate Bridge on foot is free, and the rule that matters is which sidewalk and at what hour.
The Golden Gate Bridge, Highway and Transportation District states that pedestrians, including people using wheelchairs and other mobility devices, are allowed only on the east sidewalk — the side facing the city. During Pacific Standard Time, roughly early November to early March, that sidewalk is open 05:00 to 18:30; during daylight time, roughly early March to early November, it is open 05:00 to 21:00, with automatic gates closing at the posted hour and reopening at 05:00. Cyclists have toll-free sidewalk access around the clock, alternating sides by hour and season, at a 15 mph limit that drops to 5 mph at the towers. We read those hours on 27 August 2026; construction work was closing the east sidewalk an hour early to pedestrians on selected weeknights at that time.
Cable cars and Muni: what moving around San Francisco costs
The cable car is a ride and a fare, not a transport bargain, and treating it as either extreme wastes money. SFMTA, the city transit agency, prices a single historic cable car ticket at $9.00, valid one way only and not valid for transferring between cable car lines.
Ordinary Muni buses, trains and historic streetcars cost $2.85 with a Clipper card or MuniMobile and $3.00 in cash, and an all-day pass covering that network runs $5.70 — less than one cable car ride. Seniors, riders with disabilities and Medicare cardholders paid $4.00 on the cable car outside the 07:00-to-21:00 window, and children aged four and under ride free. Those were the published fares when we read the agency's fare pages on 27 August 2026; the agency notes that paper tickets stay valid for a year after a fare change, which is its own admission that these numbers move.
- Sell-out flag
- The marker an operator sets when a departure routinely fills. 13 of the 50 sampled San Francisco products carry one, more than one product in four.
- Free cancellation share
- The proportion of the whole catalogue that refunds without penalty. In San Francisco it is 84%, so about one booking in six commits the money immediately.
- Price per hour
- Catalogue price divided by catalogue duration. It ranges from €10.31 on the Monterey day to €43.53 on a two-hour city tour, and it does not predict the rating.
- Concessioner
- The single operator a park authorises to run a service. National Park Service names Alcatraz City Cruises the only ferry permitted to land passengers on Alcatraz Island.
- Parking and shuttle reservation
- A booking separate from the entrance fee, required by National Park Service at Muir Woods for all vehicles and for shuttle riders alike.

Why two-hour neighbourhood tours rate highest of all
The two best-rated of the ten most-reviewed are both short and both about the city itself. The Painted Ladies city tour rates 4.91 across 2,369 reviews at €72.12 for two hours; the San Francisco Love Tour rates 4.85 across 3,114 reviews at €87.07 for the same length.
Both cost more per hour than anything else in the table and both outrate every full-day departure except small-group Yosemite. The city they cover is divided by Wikivoyage into a dozen districts, among them Chinatown-North Beach, Nob Hill-Russian Hill, Haight, Castro-Noe Valley, Fisherman's Wharf and The Avenues — the walkable half of a trip, and the half that costs nothing beyond a transit fare. A tour buys the framing and the driving between hills. The districts themselves stay open.
How many booked experiences fit a San Francisco trip?
One long departure and two short ones per four-day visit. The 14- and 15-hour Yosemite days consume the day they occupy and most of the next morning, and stacking two of them into one trip leaves no time in the districts at all.
The sequence that survives contact with a calendar starts with the ferry and the flagged products, because 13 of the 50 sampled carry a sell-out flag and the free days do not. Book the Alcatraz sailing and any flagged departure first, add one long trip out of the city, keep the Golden Gate Bridge walk and the district days as the flexible filler, and leave anything outside the 84% free-cancellation share for last. Prices for every departure sit on the city's live listings, and the wider set of American destinations runs from our United States country page.
Frequently asked questions
Do you need to book Alcatraz Island in advance?
The National Park Service recommends it. Its fees page states that booking in advance eliminates the wait in line, and that tickets can be bought up to 90 days ahead through Alcatraz City Cruises, the only ferry provider the park authorises to land passengers on the island. The page does not state that tickets sell out. A day-tour adult ticket was listed at $47.95 when we read it on 27 August 2026.
Which San Francisco day trip is the best rated?
The small-group Yosemite and giant sequoias trip, at 4.90 across 4,080 reviews. It is also the longest at 14 hours and the most expensive at €210.19. The near-identical pickup version of the same trip, at €197.00 for 15 hours, rates 4.35 — a 0.55 gap on the same destination that the catalogue data shows without explaining.
Did Yosemite require a reservation to enter in 2026?
No. The National Park Service page on Yosemite permits and reservations, last revised 25 June 2026, stated that a reservation was not required to enter the park in 2026, and the park's reservations page announced in February 2026 that it would drop the timed-entry system for that season in favour of real-time traffic monitoring and active parking management in Yosemite Valley. Both pages covered 2026 only; no 2027 rule was published when we checked on 27 August 2026.
Is Muir Woods free to visit?
No, and it needs a reservation as well as a fee. The National Park Service listed a standard adult entrance pass at $15.00 for ages 16 and over, and states that parking and shuttle reservation fees are separate and required for all vehicles and shuttle riders, booked at GoMuirWoods.com. An organised tour from the city, such as the €70.36 Muir Woods and Sausalito departure, covers that step for you.
How much does a San Francisco cable car ride cost?
SFMTA prices a single historic cable car ticket at $9.00, valid one way and not valid for transferring between cable car lines. An ordinary Muni bus or train ride costs $2.85 with Clipper or MuniMobile and $3.00 in cash, and an all-day Muni pass costs $5.70 — less than one cable car fare. Those were the published fares on 27 August 2026.
Can you walk across the Golden Gate Bridge for free?
Yes, on the east sidewalk, the side facing the city, which is the only one open to pedestrians. Hours are 05:00 to 18:30 during Pacific Standard Time and 05:00 to 21:00 during daylight time, with automatic gates closing at the posted hour. Cyclists have toll-free sidewalk access 24 hours a day, alternating sides. Construction was closing the east sidewalk an hour early on selected weeknights when we checked on 27 August 2026.



